Logo

Community Threads: A Maker Space

Media preview of redesigned African galleries in East building, 2017.06.29.
Community Threads is presented in conjunction with Layered Legacies: Quilts from the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts at Old Salem.
In this community quilt installation and maker space, visitors are invited to design and create quilt squares of their own design from Friday to Sunday, 10 am to 5 pm. Local artists Aliyah Bonnette, Patrizia Ferreira, and Michelle Wilkie, whose fabric works are on view, will sew the squares together to make one large community artwork.
The room is stocked with 10-by-10-inch quilting squares and smaller colored shapes. Visitors can glue shapes to the quilting squares and leave them for our local artists to use. Bonnette, Ferreira, and Wilkie will sew, embroider, and attach all the squares to make one large community artwork. Visit multiple weekends to watch the community quilt progress. You may see your art incorporated and on the walls of the NCMA!
Artists will be in the space from 11 am–1 pm on the following days. They will also lead paid workshops throughout the spring.
Aliyah Bonnette
Saturday, March 9
Saturday, March 23
Saturday, April 6
Sunday, May 5
Saturday, May 18
Saturday, June 1
Saturday, June 29
Saturday, July 13
Patrizia Ferreira
Friday, March 22
Friday, April 5
Friday, April 12
Friday, May 3
Friday, May 10
Friday, May 17
Friday, May 31
Friday, June 7
Friday, July 12
Friday, July 19
Michelle Wilkie
Sunday, March 10
Sunday, March 24
Friday, April 19
Friday, April 26
Saturday, May 11
Sunday, May 19
Sunday, June 2
Saturday, June 15
Saturday, July 20
Sunday, July 21
Scroll to Top